Buddharts Buddha Art India

The Four Sufferings of Birth, Sickness, Aging and Death

Regular price
Sale price

The Buddha shows his disciples how to care for the sick and dying through his own actions.

The four universal sufferings: birth, aging, sickness, and death. Various sutras describe Shakyamuni’s quest for enlightenment as motivated by a desire to find a solution to these four sufferings. Shakyamuni awakened to these sufferings through four encounters known as the “four meetings” that took place around the grounds of his father’s palace when he was a young prince. This awakening is what motivated him to renounce secular life and pursue the religious path in order to attain enlightenment, thus acquiring the four virtues of eternity, happiness, true self, and purity.

Hand painted oil reproduction on linen canvas with high quality oil and canvas. Average painting time is 15 days. Free Global Shipping via DHL 5-10 days guaranteed delivery or else no hassle immediate credit back.                                   

 Ships in rolled tube

 High quality linen canvas

 Museum grade oil paint

 Professionally handpainted 

Your purchase supports Buddharts mission to commission original artwork on the infinitely rich tapestry of the teachings and key events in the 3000 year history of Buddhism.